Team JuJu

RAISED:

$3,733

GOAL:

$1,000

  • me at Children's Hospital for my 6 month visit

    me at Children's Hospital for my 6 month visit

We will turn Type One into Type None

Hi. Welcome to Team JuJu!

My name is Julia Pasqualucci (or you can call me JuJu for short).

I was diagnosed on February 9th 2012 at age 11 with T1D (Type 1 Diabetes). I am just your average girl who likes to be silly with friends, go swimming, and talk about boys (only sometimes though)! The only difference is that I have to check my blood sugar, get shots, and count my carbs everyday!

When I went into the doctor on that day, I had to take many tests and get blood drawn. Me and my mom waited patiently to see the results because we originally thought I was constipated. When the doctor came back she pulled my mom out of the room. Then when they came back in I could see something was wrong in my moms eyes. The doctor told me I had type 1 diabetes. Right then, I had a flurry of questions popping in my brain. "Was I going to die sooner?", "Was I going to never be able to do something again?" The tears flooded down my face as the doctor was trying to calm me. When my tears stopped I had to get a shot to bring my blood sugar down because it was 722 out of 800. We went out for ice cream because I was so hungry and sad and met my dad. That night we drove to the Children?s Hospital of Milwaukee and stayed there for the night because we had to go to the hospital the next morning.

I had many sessions and learned what everything was. (When we were learning how to do shots I even got to give my whole family one! Just without the medicine in it.) Now I am doing just fine. I go to the doctor every three months and go to classes to learn more and more! After all, this is never going to go away from me. That's why I am going to walk to find a cure. Doctors all over are trying to find cures to get rid of T1D and to figure out how it happened. When we walk we raise mony to help the people find a cure.

Now to tell you a little about myself. I have one brother (James, aka, Brob). I play the violin. My favorite sport is gymnastics and my favorite Olympic gymnast is Gabby Douglas or Jordan Wieber. My favorite event is bars. My favorite color is hot pink. My favorite movie is Just Go With It. I really don?t have a favorite book but my favorite that I read this year was either The Help or Wonder. I LOVE to draw and hope to become an artist one day. My lucky number is 4. My favorite place to be is home.

I hope you can join me to cure diabetes. Please donate so one day I hopefully don't have T1D.

Love,

JuJu

Participant name
Raised
Loading ...
Donor Name
Amount Donated

WALK DETAILS

Date and time

May 11, 2013
Check-in: 8:30 AM
Starts: 10:00 AM
Length of walk: 5K

Location

Brown County Fairgrounds
1500 Fort Howard Avenue
De Pere, WI

MAP

CONTACT

Dana Paschen
Email | (920) 997-0038

Northeast Wisconsin Chapter
1800 Appleton Road
Suite 2
Menasha, WI 54952